Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Coffee Ritual

It's been a long long time since I've eaten some nice food. And I mean, NICE food. Went to this place near Digital Mall, Petaling Jaya. Good environment, friendly waiters, and most importantly, DELICIOUS food. =)
...
...
...
Coffee Ritual
35, Jalan 14/20, Section 14, 46100 Petaling Jaya, Selangor.
03-79561080
Monday to Saturday: 10.00 a.m. to 11.00 p.m.
Sunday and Public Holiday: 9.00 a.m. to 10.00 p.m.
Location: opposite of Digital Mall
...
...
...
Upon entering the restaurant, the smell of coffee bean filled the air.
They have a series of coffee brewer collection.
(Forgive the blur-ness. Mr. Chin forgot to switch the camera mode. Unlike me, He's neither a professional photographer nor a professional blogger.)

...
Feeling ashamed and refusing to show his face due to the blur-ness of picture took.

...
ENOUGH OF CRAP !!!
The main objective of this post is to introduce the FOOD !!!
Mr. Chin ordered a 3 course meal set. For starter, he had a carrot soup.
Totally irresistibly delicious. *dreamy*

...
Bread to go with the soup.
When dipped into the soup, what can I say? Perfect combination. And most importantly the bread was steamy hot. The butter melted completely when spreaded on it.

...
Mr. Chin's... erm... Forgot what's this... Had to add RM2 on top of the price of the set meal.

...
Of all things, Mr. Chin ordered a nasi lemak with curry chicken set. Awkwardly goes with western style appetizer, dessert, and coffee.
The nasi lemak is just okay.

...
Curry chicken looked delicious. Though the potatoes were a bit too hard. Probably because this dish was not ready by the time we got there. It was supposed to be a lunch set but we ordered at 11:30 a.m.
Nevertheless I kind of like it.

...
For dessert, we had plain crepe (how do you pronounce this word?) with vanila flavoured ice cream. This is quite expensive cause had to add RM5 on top of the price of the set meal.
But I feel it's certainly worth its price. One taste of the ice cream and another of the cream I could tell those were quality stuffs. Superb !!!

...
The set lunch costs RM25.60.
...
This is my cuppocino. =)

...
Turkey toast crepe.
There was ham inside. And the sauce tasted black pepper. Don't be fooled by its small portion. This dish is actually quite filling. =)

...
This breakfast set costs RM13.60.
...
Many strange-looking coffee brewer arranged everywhere in the restaurant.

...
And their brand name or manufacturer's name is Tiamo, which means "I love you" in Spanish, isn't it? Haha...

...
When we were looking the restaurant owner (I think he's the restaurant owner) kindly explained to us the function of the equipments.
There was this tall thing that resembled the titration process we learnt back in high school. The owner told us it was to make iced coffee.

...
Coincidently the owner was making some that time. The top flask was filled with ice and its bottom was equiped with this titration thingy that allows the liquid to flow drop-by-drop into the middle flask which was filled with coffee powder.

...
We were told they need 8 hours to fill up the bottom flask. And this was still off the menu. =)

...
No idea what this is.

...
May I say that, this place is totally worth going. And totally can try this out sometime.

...
Am planning to bring Wu Shin'n, SukTeng or ShinTien there whenever they come visit. I'm sure they'll like the food.

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

叠叠思 (Layers of Thoughts)

A friend of mine wrote a poem.

悄然回首,锦瑟华年谁与度,数秋逍遥梦,斩尽千丝愁;
还此世,千生随,对影形单望相护,秋雾凉风冬雾雪,只羡鸳鸯不羡仙。

For the benefit of those who can't understand or read Chinese, here's the translation:

Looking back,
I wonder who had you spent your youth with,
You had been alone for the past few years,
So now please forget about the worries from the past;
At this moment,
I will follow you for the rest of our lives,
We will be there for each other and take care of each other,
Spring will past and so will winter,
Envying the lovers and not the fairies. The lovers are more to be regard with envy than the fairies.

Oh my God, my terrible terrible translation... Please understand that I've tried my best, especially the last line, as I myself don't hundred percent understand the poem. And to the anonymous author*, please don't kill me...

As far as my understanding goes, basically the poem is about this guy telling his beloved that she should forget about the worries and unhappiness from her past. He understands that she had been alone and unhappy. But now, she has him. He's promising her that they'll be together forever. And they'll look out for each other, for years and years to come. So why would they want to be fairies** when they have each other to spend the rest of their lives with?

It's amazing how a few Chinese words can create a beautiful picture. Its  meaning is only limited to one's imagination.

Notes:
*The author of this poem wishes to remain anonymous.
**In Chinese belief, the fairies live... erm... luxuriously, carefree and they're immortal.

Friday, October 16, 2009

Walk For World Pink - Epilogue

A quick post for sharing. Went to claim my hamper (worth RM500) from Estee Lauder's office (in Mid Valley) today!!! Yeay I'm so excited!!! Couldn't wait to open this hamper.


The lady apologized for the packaging. Haha... Said that they had to transfer it back from KL Tower to the office. That's not really a problem to me. What's important is inside...


It has my name on it. Actually I was supposed to bring the receipt to be eligible for the claim but I told them I threw it away and asked if I can tell them my IC number instead. They said OK. So lucky. =)


Sean John perfume for men. I assumed it's for men cause I remember I've read somewhere that Sean John is a men's perfume brand. (Forgive the bad photo taking skill.)


Unforgivable... What a cool name for a perfume. I mean, it's better than J'adore (which means "I love" in French, it's not so cool once you understand it's meaning...) etc. etc., isn't it? The guy's perfume smells better than this one actually.


Lotion for women. According to my mom, the perfume smell stays longer if you apply lotion after the perfume. Will try it out.

Yup, that's about it I wanna share. =)

p/s: The blogspot photo uploader has been upgraded. It's more user friendly now. Will use it more frequently. Hmm... And it has additional function too. Will check them out later. =)

Sunday, October 11, 2009

Lament 1

I had no idea how lonely one can feel despite many people are standing by and accompanying him. Until now.

p.s. I suddenly realize I lament so much that I should have them numbered. Thus the title.

Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Walk For World Pink



ATTENTION !!! THESE ARE NOT COUPLE T-SHIRTS !!!

Yup !!! We went to this event. Organized by Estee Lauder and some very famous brands. =) It's a breast cancer awareness thingy. The theme is, of course, pink. And the T-shirts are given, that's why all of us were wearing it.

Date : 3rd October 2009
Time : 5:30 p.m.
Venue : KL tower
Walk Distance : 3.9 km
Fees : RM30 (not inclusive of RM3 processing fees if paid online)
Objective : To raise breast cancer awareness
Reasons to invest RM30 : free T-shirt, goodie bag worth RM100, all-you-can-eat cereal + milk and milo... Wakakakakakaka...

YES !!! 3.9 km !!! We were supposed to walk 3.9 km around KL tower.


While waiting for the walk to start...

Notice my stiffness/numbness when taking pictures...

A sea of pink...

Yes, we learnt how to check for breast cancer...

Even Mix fm was there. They were distributing Estee Lauder perfume samples. I got one !!!

Who is this Mix fm deejay ???
The walk is about to start...
Are you ready ???!!!
Get, set, GO !!!

Pink people, rush forward !!!

On our way we passed by Hard Rock Hotel. Even Hard Rock is promoting breast cancer awareness. So cute !!!
Finally finished the loooooooooong walk... The sky was already dark...
Wanna go Luna Bar (on the roof of Pan Global building) !!!
Illuminated KL tower...
We've got goodie bags as reward for finishing the walk. I've got this Estee Lauder night essence thingy for preventing aging. I guess I should start now. *scared* I checked online and it's worth RM100.
Mr. Chin got this. And of course he doesn't need them so they're mine.

We finished the walk at about 7:50 p.m. There was a lucky draw at about 8:30 p.m. but because Manyee wanted to go back to Seremban so she can't stay too late. So all of us walked with her back to her car and initially we planned to go back for the lucky draw. But tiredness and hunger got better hold of us so we decided to go to KLCC for dinner instead. HAHA !!!

And then today, an amazing thing happened !!! I got a call from Estee Lauder and they told me I won a lucky draw that day !!! I was so surprised. I mean, if they don't get anyone onstage to claim the prize wouldn't they just re-draw it? Well I guess in this case they didn't. And they asked me to go claim the prize. It's a hamper from Sean John (forgive my ignorance but what brand is that?) worth RM500. But because I was to claim it from the Estee Lauder office so they're only available on weekdays office hour. Am wondering what should I do. Probably will go on 16th October since my company is giving that day off due to Deepavali celebration. Yeay!!! So lucky right? =)

Total investment : RM33 + RM33 = RM66
Goodie bag : RM100 + RM100 = RM200
Perfume sample : RM20 (approximately)
Lucky draw : RM500
Having to spend quality time with good friends : priceless


Wednesday, September 30, 2009

funny t-shirts

That day I went to 1 Utama and saw a shop selling funny t-shirts. Bought two of them.

This is mine... Some more it's a plural, "men"... Haha...
This is Mr. Chin's...
"You dumb shit"... Haha...

Funny leh... Haha... We had such a good laugh simply by looking at the t-shirts in the shop.

Too bad guys' t-shirts are funnier than the girls' ones. Got a lot funnier ones some more. If looking for cute and naughty t-shirts can go to this place. It's near 1 Utama TGV. The t-shirts sold are mostly black. Can be easily spotted. =)

Monday, September 14, 2009

Dream No. 1

I try to look far. But my view is blocked by the sun shade above the boat. Or is it a ship? It's more like a miniature ship, I think. I'm not sure though.

I'm on a ship with Mr. Chin. I look at him and smile after reacting to LingYue's excited voice. He kissed me tenderly on my cheek. He doesn't do this very often in the public. Feeling a little embarrassed, I ignore him and look away. The sea is blue and crystal clear. The ship is sailing smoothly. Or does it run on a motor? I'm not so sure.

I look down and saw a few people swimming near our ship. One of them is dressed in black suit and tie. I wonder why are they swimming here. It's deep sea. Aren't they afraid they'd drown? Anyway, so that's why the ship is moving forward slowly, to avoid clashing into the people.

The ship then sailed into something like a lagoon, only narrower, very much narrower. There are beach at both sides of the ship. Weird, I think. There are sea turtles resting at the beach. Some are in the water. Their sizes range from baby sea turtles to giant adult sea turtles. I'm amazed simply looking at them. The ship then halted to a stop. LingYue jumps into the sea without a second of delay.

Before I know it I'm already in the water, with Mr. Chin right beside me, together with another Caucasian girl. She's also with the snorkeling team. I'm not very sure though whether we're here to snorkel or other activities. Anyway, her grandma just passed away recently and... Yeah, basically that's all I know about her.

At some point we somehow dived into the water. I can even open my eyes and hold my breath when I'm underneath. Amazing. The girl, for some reason she is holding on to a rope (which is tied to the ship) to pull herself up to the surface. She pauses a few seconds with her head above the water, then she sinks back down, looking stunned. But she then recollects herself and swims away.

I'm curious as to why she reacts that way. So I ask Mr. Chin to pull me up to the surface to take a look. I'm shocked when I see what lies before me. Floating on the water, is the girl's grandma. I know her because I've seen her picture before. Grandma looks at me and smiles gently. And then it's time to go back. So I wave at her. She waves back. I look at Mr. Chin and realize he is looking at me as though he doesn't know who am I waving to. And I understand that he can't see what I see.

And before we can reach the ship to embark on a journey back, I woke up.

Yes it was a dream. I woke up feeling disturbed on a Sunday morning. Mr. Chin was the only person I got a chance to tell about this dream. And he, too agreed that it is peculiar and disturbing, especially the part about a man dressed in suit swimming in the sea. How weird.

Anyway, I just thought of sharing this. My posts in September are mostly for sharing, I realized. And this post is entitled "Dream No. 1" because I'm actually looking forward to dreaming more of these scary and weird dreams.

Call me a weirdo but I kind of like strange things. ;)

Saturday, September 12, 2009

Hare Hare Yukai


I'm recruiting people to learn this dance with me. =) Haha... It's actually a closing song for a Japanese animation that I used to watch back in college. It's called "The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya". This is the first season. The second season is actually released and I'm downloading it now. Looking forward to watching it. =)
And ya, whoever interested to learn this dance please get in touch with me. Hehe...

Saturday, September 5, 2009

Oscar Winner Labrador

I saw this touching advertisement on a Taiwanese program in Astro Channel 317. The dog was so cute and I personally think his performance worth a Oscar. Just thought of sharing it with you. Enjoy. =)

Thursday, September 3, 2009

A Dream

When I was in high school, I took some time wondering what is the meaning of life, what is the sole purpose of human's existence. My friends called me crazy. I was a little weird, and a little depressed I guess. Of course, this kind of philosophy stuff is not my thing, so my wonders were to no avail. Then I proceeded to making vows that I do not want to live my life like everybody else - study, go to college, graduate, work, get a husband, get married, have kids, THE END. I wanted to live my life differently. I wanted to go travel around the world, backpacking, stop whenever I want, and wherever I want. Live the real life, I thought. I said it with much pride, with much determination, though knowing very well that it is not going to happen. I do not have the courage to do so. It requires me to give up almost everything.

By the time that I finished high school, the thought somehow subsided a little. My determination gradually faded because I was studying like mad to score my STPM. That time my only thought was to enter the best university with the best bachelor degree course. (Talk about not wanting to live like everybody else... *roll eyes*)

Then I got into UPM, Bachelor Degree of Chemical Engineering. During my first and second semester I was, again, busy studying. Thoughts like "what am I doing now?" and "what do I want to do with my life?" and "is that all to life?" popped up once in a while, only vaguely. Too vague for me to pay attention to them. During my second year, I moved out from the university campus and stayed with some housemates. We had so much fun together. And in third and fourth year, I was revolving around exams, projects, assignments and most of all, having fun with Minlon people. At that time, life wasn't much of a routine, and thus not as boring. We were crazy enough to drive up to Genting at 9p.m., spent a sleepless night in the casino and smoking (only the guys, I did not smoke) at the garden, then drive back to KL at 5a.m. after a McD breakfast. Life was full of surprises and unexpected endings.

When I started working a 9-to-5-job, the thought surfaced again. I was again, begining to wonder, do I want to live the rest of my life like this? A routine? At that time I was feeling rather depressed. Not because of this, but because of some other issues I had. I was crying almost everyday. Then Mr. Chin appeared. His sudden presence pulled me out of my depression. I felt important again, I felt love again. Until today we were together for almost one year.

And all out of a sudden, today, there it was again. The "is that all to life?" thought, it just crept in, as if it were there all along. It's not that I'm unhappy about my current life. In fact, I feel it's quite complete. I have a family (though broken, but still a family), friends (good, good, loving friends), a boyfriend (who loves me as much as he loves himself, maybe even more), a job (at least I have a stable income), and a blog (though not many readers). But I still think I don't deserve to live a routine life. At least not now.

So I thought it through, and I've made a decision (with the help of a friend). If I can't make my dream come true, I will change it. If I can't spend my whole life backpacking, I will spend a fraction of it, say 2 to 6 months, apply a working holiday visa to UK, or New Zealand, or Europe, anywhere. I will either do it alone or with Mr. Chin if he's interested (I'd be much happier if he is).

The purpose of this post is to mark this day, and set a reminder to myself this dream of mine. I will work towards this from now. Wish me luck, you guys! ;)